Full-Time Faculty

Sean Aas

Assistant Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics

Email: sda6@georgetown.edu

Interests: Political philosophy, bioethics and metaethics

Personal Website

Frank Ambrosio

Associate Professor

Email: ambrosif@georgetown.edu

Interests: Hermeneutics and Deconstruction, especially the work of Hans-Georg Gadamer and Jacques Derrida; Plato, Existentialism, Dante, and Christian Philosophy

Faculty Profile

William Blattner

Professor and Department Chair

Email: William.Blattner@georgetown.edu

Interests: Heidegger, Kant, Phenomenology, Existentialism, Philosophy of History

Personal Website

Alisa Carse

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Email: carsea@georgetown.edu

Interests: Moral Psychology, Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics, Feminist Theory

Faculty Profile

Wayne Davis

Professor and President of the University Faculty Senate

Email: Wayne.Davis@georgetown.edu

Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, Logic

Faculty Profile

John Greco

Robert L. McDevitt, K.S.G., K.C.H.S. and Catherine H. McDevitt L.C.H.S Chair in Philosophy

Email: john.greco@georgetown.edu

Interests: Epistemology (especially skepticism, virtue epistemology, social epistemology); action theory; philosophy of religion; Thomas Reid.

Personal Website

Bryce Huebner

Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor

Email: Bryce.Huebner@georgetown.edu

Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Psychology

Personal Website

Ya Yun (Sherry) Kao

Assistant Teaching Professor

Email: yk652@georgetown.edu

Interests: Normative Ethics, Value Theory, Biomedical Ethics, Environmental Philosophy, History of Ethics, Social and Political philosophy, Chinese Philosophy

Faculty Profile

Quill Rebecca Kukla

Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics

Email: Rebecca.Kukla@georgetown.edu

Interests: Social epistemology, philosophy of language, philosophy of science (especially medicine and geography), feminist and anti-oppressive philosophy

Faculty Profile

Mark Lance

Professor of Philosophy and Justice & Peace

Email: lancem@georgetown.edu

Interests: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Logic, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Anarchism

Faculty Profile

Neil Lewis

Professor and Coordinator of the Honors Program

Email: lewisn@georgetown.edu

Interests: Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics

Faculty Profile

David Lindeman

Assistant Teaching Professor

Email: David.Lindeman@georgetown.edu

Interests: Philosophy of Language, Mind, and Psychology; Logic, Existentialism.

Faculty Profile

Maggie Little

Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics

Email: littlem@georgetown.edu

Interests: Ethics, Feminist Theory, Bioethics

Personal Website

Huaping Lu-Adler

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Placement

Interests: Kant, Early Modern Philosophy, History of Logic, Philosophy of Language

Faculty Profile

David Luban

University Professor of Law and Philosophy

Email: luband@law.georgetown.edu

Interests: Philosophy of Law and Jurisprudence, Legal Ethics, Human Rights, Just War Theory

Faculty Profile

James Mattingly

Associate Professor

Email: jmm67@georgetown.edu

Interests: Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Physics

Faculty Profile

Shelbi Meissner

Assistant Professor

Email: sm3551@georgetown.edu

Interests: American Indian and Indigenous Philosophy, Philosophies of Language, Feminist Epistemology, Philosophy of Race

Faculty Profile

Mark Murphy

Robert L. McDevitt, K.S.G., K.C.H.S. and Catherine H. McDevitt Chair of Religious Philosophy

Interests: Moral, Political, and Legal Philosophy; History of Modern Philosophy

Personal Website

Terry Pinkard (On leave Fall 2020)

University Professor

Email: Terry.Pinkard@georgetown.edu

Interests: Hegel, European Philosophy after Kant

Joel Michael Reynolds

Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Disability Studies

Email: Joel.Reynolds@georgetown.edu

Interests: Philosophy of Disability, Bioethics, Social Epistemology, European Philosophy

Personal Website

Henry Richardson

Professor, Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, and Director of Graduate Admissions

Email: Henry. Richardson@georgetown.edu

Interests: Political Philosophy, Ethics, Practical Reasoning

Personal Website

Nancy Sherman (On leave Fall 2020)

University Professor

Email: shermann@georgetown.edu

Interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, History of Moral Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy and Ancient Ethics, Military Ethics, Emotions

Personal Website

Karen Stohr

Ryan Term Associate Professor of Metaphysics and Moral Philosophy and Director of Undergraduate Studies

Email: Karen.Stohr@georgetown.edu

Interests: Ethics, Bioethics

Personal Website

Daniel Sulmasy

Andre Hellegers Professor of Biomedical Ethics and Acting Director, Kennedy Institute of Ethics

Email: sulmasyd@georgetown.edu

Interests: Ethics of End-of-Life Decision Making, Ethics Education, and Spirituality in Medicine

Faculty Profile

Femi Táíwò

Assistant Professor

Interests: Ethics Theory, Social/Political Philosophy, Black Radical Traditions, and the Intersections of Philosophy and Social Science (particularly economics)

Faculty Profile

Wilfried Ver Eecke

Professor

Interests: Philosophy and the Ethics of Psychoanalysis, Hegel, Ethics of Economics, Lacan, Contemporary Continental Philosophy

Faculty Profile

Katherine Withy

Associate Professor

Email: Kate.Withy@georgetown.edu

Interests: Heidegger, 20th Century European Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy

Faculty Profile

Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated Faculty teach courses in the Philosophy Department and may sit on doctoral committees.

Jason Brennan 
Robert J. and Elizabeth Flanagan Family Professor
McDonough School of Business

Erin M. Cline (new window)
Professor
Department of Theology and Religious Studies

Heidi Feldman
Professor of Law and Co-Director, Joint Degree in Law and Philosophy Program
Georgetown University Law Center

John Hasnas
Professor and Executive Director of the Georgetown Institute for the Study of Markets and Ethics
McDonough School of Business

John Keown
Rose F. Kennedy Professor in Christian Ethics
Kennedy Institute of Ethics

John Mikhail
Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Research and Academic Programs
Georgetown University Law Center

Edward Soule
Associate Professor
McDonough School of Business

Carol Taylor
Professor on the Educator Track
School of Nursing and Health Sciences

Kevin Tobia
Assistant Professor of Law
Georgetown Law

John DeGioia
University President