The Philosophy Department at Georgetown University is a pluralistic department that contributes centrally to the University’s core commitments to “justice and the common good, our intellectual openness, and our international character.” We value and promote a variety of approaches to philosophical reflection, including traditional research in contemporary philosophical problems, the study of the history of philosophy, practically engaged and public-facing philosophy, all in both the Anglophone and international linguistic traditions. We have broad strengths in traditional fields of philosophical inquiry, including ethical theory and practical ethics (especially bioethics), social and political philosophy, philosophy of language, epistemology, and the Catholic philosophical tradition. We are currently building a focus in philosophical approaches to race, as well as philosophical traditions rooted in the thought of disadvantaged or marginalized racial groups.


Madeline Ward Successfully Defends Dissertation

September 16th, 2022

The Department of Philosophy congratulates PhD student Madeline Ward on the successful defense of her dissertation, entitled: With All Due Deference: Marginalized Epistemic Agents and What They’re…