Faculty

sean aas   Sean Aas

      On leave Fall 2018      
      Assistant Professor & Senior Research Scholar in
      the Kennedy Institute of Ethics

       Email: sda46@georgetown.edu
       Interests: Political philosophy, bioethics and metaethics
                                                Faculty Profile
                                                Personal website

 

Frank Ambrosio       Frank Ambrosio

Associate Professor, PhD, Fordham, 1982
Email: ambrosif@georgetown.edu
Interests: Hermeneutics and Deconstruction, especially the work of Hans-Georg Gadamer and Jacques Derrida; Plato, Existentialism, Dante, and Christian Philosophy.
Faculty Profile
Personal website
 

 

William Blattner      William Blattner

Professor & Department Chair, PhD, Pittsburgh, 1989
Email: William.Blattner@georgetown.edu
Interests: Heidegger, Kant, Phenomenology, Existentialism, Philosophy of History.
Faculty Profile
Personal website 
 

 

   home image David Bronstein

On leave 2018-19
Associate Professor, 
PhD, Toronto, 2008
Email: David.Bronstein@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ancient Philosophy, especially Plato and Aristotle; Early Modern Philosophy.
Faculty Profile

 

Alisa Carse      Alisa Carse

On leave Spring 2019
Associate Professor, 
PhD, Pittsburgh, 1991
Email: carsea@georgetown.edu
Interests: Moral Psychology, Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics, Feminist Theory.
Faculty Profile

 

 

Wayne Davis     Wayne Davis

Professor, PhD, Princeton, 1977
Email: Wayne.Davis@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, Logic.
Faculty Profile

 

 

home image      Bryce Huebner

Provost's Distinguished Associate Professor, PhD, North Carolina - Chapel Hill, 2008
Email:Bryce.Huebner@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Psychology
Faculty Profile
Personal Website 
 

 

Rebecca Kukla_new     Rebecca Kukla

Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, PhD, Pittsburgh, 1996
Email: Rebecca.Kukla@georgetown.edu
Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Medicine and Bioethics, Eighteenth Century Philosophy (especially Rousseau and Kant), Feminist Philosophy.
Faculty Profile
 

 

Mark Lance     Mark Lance

On leave 2018-19
Professor of Philosophy and Justice & Peace, 
PhD, Pittsburgh, 1988
Email: lancem@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Logic, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Anarchism.
Faculty Profile

 

     home imageNeil Lewis

On leave Fall 2018
Associate Professor, 
PhD, Pittsburgh, 1988
Email: lewisn@georgetown.edu
Interests: Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics.
Faculty Profile

 

 

Judith Lichtenberg     Judith Lichtenberg

Professor, PhD, CUNY, 1978
Email:Judith.Lichtenberg@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ethics, Political Philosophy.
Faculty Profile
Personal Website
 

 

Maggie Little     Maggie Little

On leave Fall 2018
Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, 
PhD, Berkeley, 1994
Email: littlem@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ethics, Feminist Theory, Bioethics.
Faculty Profile
Personal Website
 

 

     home imageHuaping Lu-Adler

On leave Spring 2019
Associate Professor, 
PhD, Univ. of California, Davis, 2012
Email: hl530@georgetown.edu
Interests: Kant, Early Modern Philosophy, History of Logic, Philosophy of Language.
Faculty Profile

 

 

David Luban     David Luban

University Professor & Professor of Law, PhD, Yale, 1974
Email: luband@law.georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Law and Jurisprudence, Legal Ethics, Human Rights, Just War Theory.
Faculty Profile

 

 

    home image  James Mattingly

Associate Professor, PhD, Indiana, 2002
Email: jmm67@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Physics.
Faculty Profile
 
 

 

Mark Murphy_new     Mark Murphy

Professor, McDevitt Chair of Religious Philosophy, PhD, Notre Dame, 1993
Email: Mark.Murphy@georgetown.edu
Interests: Moral, Political, and Legal Philosophy; History of Modern Philosophy.
Faculty Profile
Personal Website
 

 

      Terry PinkardTerry Pinkard

University Professor, PhD, Stony Brook, 1974
Email: Terry.Pinkard@georgetown.edu
Interests: Hegel, European Philosophy after Kant.
Faculty Profile
Personal Website
 

 

Madison Powers     Madison Powers

On leave Fall 2018
Professor & Francis J. McNamara Chair & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics,  
D. Phil, Oxford, 1989
Email: powersm@georgetown.edu
Interests: Political Philosophy, Bioethics.
Faculty Profile

 

 

Henry Richardson     Henry Richardson

Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, PhD, Harvard, 1986
Email: Henry.Richardson@georgetown.edu
Interests: Political Philosophy, Ethics, Practical Reasoning.
Faculty Profile
Personal website
 

 

Nancy Sherman     Nancy Sherman

University Professor, PhD, Harvard, 1982
Email: shermann@georgetown.edu
Website: NancySherman.com
Interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, History of Moral Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy and Ancient Ethics, Military Ethics, Emotions.
Faculty Profile
 

 

Karen Stohr     Karen Stohr

Ryan Term Associate Professor of Metaphysics and Moral Philosophy, PhD, North Carolina - Chapel Hill, 1999
Email: Karen.Stohr@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ethics, Bioethics.
Faculty Profile
Personal Website

 

   Daniel Sulmasy

Andre Hellegers Professor of Biomedical Ethics and Acting Director, Kennedy Institute of Ethics, MD, Cornell Medical College; PhD, Georgetown University
Email: sulmasyd@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ethics of End-of-Life Decision-Making, Ethics Education, and Spirituality in Medicine.

Femi Taiwo headshotFemi Taiwo

     Assistant Professor, PhD, U.C.L.A, 2018
     Email:  olufemi.taiwo@georgetown.edu
     Interests: ethical theory, social/political philosophy, Black radical traditions, and the
     intersections of philosophy and social science (particularly economics).
 

Wilfried Ver Eecke     Wilfried Ver Eecke

On leave 2018-19
Professor, 
PhD, Louvain, 1966
Email: vereeckw@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy and the Ethics of Psychoanalysis, Hegel, Ethics and Economics, Lacan, Contemporary Continental Philosophy.
Faculty Profile

 

Kate Withy       Katherine Withy

Associate Professor, PhD, Chicago, 2009
Email: Kate.Withy@georgetown.edu
Interests: Heidegger, 20th Century European Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy.
Faculty Profile