Faculty

sean aas   Sean Aas

      On leave Fall 2019      
      Assistant Professor & Senior Research Scholar in
      the Kennedy Institute of Ethics

       Email: sda46@georgetown.edu
       Interests: Political philosophy, bioethics and metaethics
                                                Personal website

 

Frank Ambrosio       Frank Ambrosio

On leave Fall 2019
Associate Professor,
PhD, Fordham, 1982
Email: ambrosif@georgetown.edu
Interests: Hermeneutics and Deconstruction, especially the work of Hans-Georg Gadamer and Jacques Derrida; Plato, Existentialism, Dante, and Christian Philosophy.
Personal website
 

 

William Blattner      William Blattner

Professor & Department Chair, PhD, Pittsburgh, 1989
Email: William.Blattner@georgetown.edu
Interests: Heidegger, Kant, Phenomenology, Existentialism, Philosophy of History.
Personal website 
 

 

   home image David Bronstein

On leave 2019-20
Associate Professor, 
PhD, Toronto, 2008
Email: David.Bronstein@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ancient Philosophy, especially Plato and Aristotle; Early Modern Philosophy.

 

Alisa Carse      Alisa Carse

Associate Professor, PhD, Pittsburgh, 1991
Email: carsea@georgetown.edu
Interests: Moral Psychology, Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics, Feminist Theory.
 

 

 

Wayne Davis     Wayne Davis

Professor, PhD, Princeton, 1977
Email: Wayne.Davis@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, Logic.
 

 

home image      Bryce Huebner

On leave Spring 2020
Provost's Distinguished Associate Professor, 
PhD, North Carolina - Chapel Hill, 2008
Email:Bryce.Huebner@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Psychology
Personal Website 
 

Sherry Kao profile photo Ya Yun Kao (SherRy)

    Assistant Teaching Professoer, PhD, Rice University, 2019
    Email: YK652@georgetown.edu
    Interests:  Normative Ethics, Value Theory, Biomedical Ethics,
    Environmental Philosophy, History of Ethics, Social and
    Political philosophy, Chinese Philosophy

 

Rebecca Kukla_new     Rebecca Kukla

On leave Spring 2020
Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, 
PhD, Pittsburgh, 1996
Email: Rebecca.Kukla@georgetown.edu
Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Medicine and Bioethics, Eighteenth Century Philosophy (especially Rousseau and Kant), Feminist Philosophy.

 

Mark Lance     Mark Lance

Professor of Philosophy and Justice & Peace, PhD, Pittsburgh, 1988
Email: lancem@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Logic, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Anarchism.

 

     home imageNeil Lewis

     Associate Professor, PhD, Pittsburgh, 1988
     Email: lewisn@georgetown.edu
     Interests: Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics.

 

Judith Lichtenberg     Judith Lichtenberg

On leave Fall 2019
Professor, 
PhD, CUNY, 1978
Email:Judith.Lichtenberg@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ethics, Political Philosophy.
Personal Website

 

David Lindeman profile photo  David Lindeman

   Assistant Teaching Professor, PhD, Johns Hopkins, 2019
   Email: David.Lindeman@georgetown.edu
   Interests:  Philosophy of Language, Mind, and Psychology; Logic, Existentialism

 

 

Maggie Little     Maggie Little

Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, PhD, Berkeley, 1994
Email: littlem@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ethics, Feminist Theory, Bioethics.
Personal Website
 

 

     home imageHuaping Lu-Adler

Associate Professor, PhD, Univ. of California, Davis, 2012
Email: hl530@georgetown.edu
Interests: Kant, Early Modern Philosophy, History of Logic, Philosophy of Language.

 

 

David Luban     David Luban

University Professor & Professor of Law, PhD, Yale, 1974
Email: luband@law.georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Law and Jurisprudence, Legal Ethics, Human Rights, Just War Theory.

 

 

    home image  James Mattingly

Associate Professor, PhD, Indiana, 2002
Email: jmm67@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Physics.
 

 

Shelbi Meissner profile photo   Shelbi Meissner

    Assistant Professor, PhD, Michigan State, 2019
    Email: Shelbi.Meissner@georgetown.edu
    Interests:  American Indian and Indigenous Philosophy, Philosophies of Language,
    Feminist Epistemology, Philosophy of Race

 

Mark Murphy_new     Mark Murphy

Professor, McDevitt Chair of Religious Philosophy, PhD, Notre Dame, 1993
Email: Mark.Murphy@georgetown.edu
Interests: Moral, Political, and Legal Philosophy; History of Modern Philosophy.
Personal Website
 

 

      Terry PinkardTerry Pinkard

On leave Spring 2020
University Professor, 
PhD, Stony Brook, 1974
Email: Terry.Pinkard@georgetown.edu
Interests: Hegel, European Philosophy after Kant.
Personal Website
 

 

Madison Powers     Madison Powers

On leave Fall 2019
Professor & Francis J. McNamara Chair & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics,  
D. Phil, Oxford, 1989
Email: powersm@georgetown.edu
Interests: Political Philosophy, Bioethics.

 

Henry Richardson     Henry Richardson

On leave 2019-20
Professor & Senior Research Scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, 
PhD, Harvard, 1986
Email: Henry.Richardson@georgetown.edu
Interests: Political Philosophy, Ethics, Practical Reasoning.
Personal website
 

 

Nancy Sherman     Nancy Sherman

On leave Spring 2020
University Professor, 
PhD, Harvard, 1982
Email: shermann@georgetown.edu
Website: NancySherman.com
Interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, History of Moral Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy and Ancient Ethics, Military Ethics, Emotions.
 

 

Karen Stohr     Karen Stohr

Ryan Term Associate Professor of Metaphysics and Moral Philosophy, PhD, North Carolina - Chapel Hill, 1999
Email: Karen.Stohr@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ethics, Bioethics.
Personal Website

 

   Daniel Sulmasy

Andre Hellegers Professor of Biomedical Ethics and Acting Director, Kennedy Institute of Ethics, MD, Cornell Medical College; PhD, Georgetown University
Email: sulmasyd@georgetown.edu
Interests: Ethics of End-of-Life Decision-Making, Ethics Education, and Spirituality in Medicine.

Femi Taiwo headshot   Femi Taiwo

     Assistant Professor, PhD, U.C.L.A, 2018
     Email:  olufemi.taiwo@georgetown.edu
     Interests: ethical theory, social/political philosophy, Black radical traditions, and the
     intersections of philosophy and social science (particularly economics).
 

Wilfried Ver Eecke     Wilfried Ver Eecke

Professor, PhD, Louvain, 1966
Email: vereeckw@georgetown.edu
Interests: Philosophy and the Ethics of Psychoanalysis, Hegel, Ethics and Economics, Lacan, Contemporary Continental Philosophy.

 

Kate Withy       Katherine Withy

On leave Spring 2020
Associate Professor, 
PhD, Chicago, 2009
Email: Kate.Withy@georgetown.edu
Interests: Heidegger, 20th Century European Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy.